Basketball and India

3X3 Pro Basketball League: Results from Round 2 of 3BL Season 2

Round 2 MVPs (Left to right): Smruthi Radhakrishnan, Bikramjit Singh Gill, and Dhruv Barman
Round 2 MVPs (Left to right): Smruthi Radhakrishnan, Bikramjit Singh Gill, and Dhruv Barman (3X3BL)

During the second weekend of August (9-11), it was time for Round 2 of Season 2 of the 3X3BL, India's only FIBA-recognised 3X3 league, at the Lovely Professional University campus in Jalandhar.

The format was the same as Round 1, only this time the women took the court on Friday instead of Sunday.

MORE: Results from Round 1 of 3BL Season 2

Here's a quick look at the group stage results from round 2 in the women's league:

Team 1 Score Team 2
Pune Panthers 15-13 [OT] Kochi Stars
Coimbatore Spunkies 15-10 Jaipur Regals
Ludhiana Queens 10-13 Kochi Stars
Delhi Divas 8-11 Jaipur Regals
Pune Panthers 17-16 Ludhiana Queens
Coimbatore Spunkies 21-13 Delhi Divas

After going winless in Round 1 and being eliminated in the group stage, Geethu Anna Rahul, arguably India's most accomplished female basketball player, and the squad from Kochi bounced back to become Round 2 Champions.

They won their first game of the tournament, enough to qualify for the semifinals when they beat the Ludhiana Queens 13-10. In the Semis, they won a hard-fought battle against the Coimbatore Spunkies 19-16.

In the final, they cruised past the Round 1 Champions in the Pune Pathers, with a 21-13 win.

The following day, on Saturday, the six men's teams from Conference A competed. Here's a quick look at the results from the group stage:

Team 1 Score Team 2
Chandigarh Challengers 21-19 Goa Snipers
Chennai Icons 15-12 Bangalore Machas
Aizwal Legends 14-21 Goa Snipers
Delhi Hoopers 21-12 Bangalore Machas
Chandigarh Challengers 21-11 Aizwal Legends
Chennai Icons 15-21 Delhi Hoopers

The Chandigarh Challengers, led by India's top two ranked FIBA 3x3 players in Amjyot Singh Gill and Dhruv Barman, repeated as Conference A Champions.

They won both of their group stage games, including a close opener against Goa Snipers where Barman sealed the deal with a game-winner:

In the knockout games, the Challengers absolutely dominated their opponents. They won the semifinal against Chennai Icons 21-11 and then went on to beat the Goa Snipers 21-10 in the finals.

For his heroics in the opener and consistent play all through round 2, Barman was named Conference A MVP for Round 2.

On the final day of Round 2, it was time for the six teams from Conference B to take the floor. Here are how the games went down in the group stage:

Team 1 Score Team 2
Mumbai Heroes 21-14 Lucknow Ligers
Gurugram Masters 21-17 Ahmedabad Wingers
Hyderabad Ballers 19-17 Lucknow Ligers
Kolkata Warriors 21-14 Ahmedabad Wingers
Mumbai Heroes 22-12 Hyderabad Ballers
Gurugram Masters 21-20 Kolkata Warriors

Round 1 Champions, the Mumbai Heroes, were defeated 21-19 by the Gurugram Masters in a super-competitive Conference B final.

Both teams were unbeaten in the group stage and but had contrasting wins in the semifinals. While the Heroes edged out the Kolkata Warriors 17-16, the Masters breezed past the Hyderabad Ballers 21-11.

The Conference B title came after Bikramjit Gill knocked down a game-winner two-pointer:

At the presentation ceremony, Gill was announced as the Round 2 Conference B MVP.

More from

Russell Westbrook (Los Angeles Lakers)
Johnson says Lakers fans deserve better
Nick Metallinos
Julius Randle, RJ Barrett (New York Knicks)
Barrett continues hot streak, makes Knicks history
Nick Metallinos
Joel Embiid (Philadelphia 76ers)
Dominant Embiid continues unstoppable stretch
Yash Matange
Kevin Durant (Brooklyn Nets)
Durant exits game vs. Pelicans with knee injury
Nick Metallinos
Zach LaVine (Chicago Bulls)
LaVine (knee) not expected to miss significant time
Nick Metallinos
Anthony Davis, Frank Vogel
Report: Davis (knee) eying return by end of January
Kyle Irving
More News