Basketball and India

Bengaluru confirmed as the host city for Division A of the FIBA Women's Asia Cup 2019

India's senior women's team that clinched the Division B crown in 2017.
(Doordhashan National/Twitter)

Bengaluru has been confirmed as the host city for Division A of the FIBA Women's Asia Cup 2019, a press release by the FIBA stated.

The tournament will take place over six days from Sep. 24-29. The eight countries that have earned their spots in Division A are Japan, Australia, China, Korea, Chinese Taipei, Philippines, New Zealand and India.

India was promoted to Division A after it clinched the Division B crown, courtesy of a game-winner by Shireen Limaye in a thrilling finale against Kazakhstan in the previous edition of the tournament (FIBA Women's Asia Cup 2017).

Over the past couple of years, Bengaluru has played host to multiple women's FIBA Asian Championships (U16 Asia Cup in 2017 and U18 Asia Cup in 2018) including the previous edition of this tournament (Division A and B of the FIBA Women's Asia Cup 2017).

In all these tournaments, across different age groups (seniors, U16, U18), the Indian women earned a promotion from Division B to Division A.

A month earlier, Bengaluru also hosted the draw for the 2021 FIBA Men's Asia Cup Qualifiers.

As per FIBA's release, the host city for Division B will be announced at a later date.

More from NBA.com

CP3 expected to start season with Thunder
Benyam Kidane
The Indian NBA Dream
Karan Madhok
Balón FIBA Mundial China 2019
All-time FIBA World Cup records
Sergio Rabinal
Pros and cons of trading for CP3
Scott Rafferty
Did the Clippers win free agency?
Scott Rafferty
Westbrook's complicated fit with Harden, Rockets
Scott Rafferty
More News