Basketball and India

FIBA Asia Cup 2021 Qualifying Tournament: Participating teams, groups, schedule, venue and more to know

With the conclusion of the final group games for the FIBA Asia Cup 2021 Qualifiers, in the bubbles in Philippines and Jordan, the final set of teams to qualify for the FIBA Asia Cup 2021 becomes more clear.

The 20 games played over nine days (Jun. 12-20) across two bubbles added ten more nations to the already qualified three, leaving only three spots to fill for the 16-nation FIBA Asia Cup 2021.

Philippines, Korea, China, Japan, Australia, New Zealand, Iran, Syria, Jordan and Kazakhstan are the set of 10 teams that were the latest to punch their ticket to the continental event.

MORE: Vishesh Bhriguvanshi's last-second heroics save India

The final three teams will be decided by a qualifying tournament. Here's everything you need to know about it:

Where is the FIBA Asia Cup 2021 Qualifying Tournament?

As part of a new FIBA Calendar format implemented in 2017, this is the first 'Qualifying Tournament' for the Asia Cup. The tournament will be held in Jakarta, Indonesia - the same venue as the Asia Cup.

This is only the second time in Asia Cup history that Indonesia is playing hosts and the first time since 1993.

When is the FIBA Asia Cup 2021 Qualifying Tournament?

The Tournament will be held just a few days prior to the Asia Cup.

While the Asia Cup will be conducted from Aug. 17-29, the qualifying tournament will be conducted over three days on Aug. 12, 13 and 14.

Which teams are participating in the FIBA Asia Cup 2021 Qualifying Tournament?

Originally, the tournament was set to feature six nations - all teams that finish third across the six groups from the qualifiers.

However, Indonesia - who finished third in Group A - have already qualified for the Asia Cup as hosts. Thus, leaving the qualifying tournament with only five teams that will fight it out for the final three spots.

The five nations to participate in the Qualifying Tournament are - Chinese Taipei (Group B), Guam (Group C), India (Group D), Saudi Arabia (Group E) and Palestine (Group F).

The groups and schedule for the five-nation 'qualifying tournament' are yet to be announced. Stay tuned to this space to know the latest.

Feature Image courtesy: FIBA/Twitter

The views on this page do not reflect the views of the NBA or its clubs.

More from

NBA Academy virtually developing Next Gen
Carlan Gay
U.S. Women, Latvian Men win first-ever 3x3 gold Staff
#Mills #Lillard
Results, top performers from Day 4 Staff
How are Olympic basketball tiebreakers determined? Staff
USA bounces back with 54-point win over Iran
Benyam Kidane
Key dates finalized for 2021-22 season
Official Release
More News