FIBA Asia Cup

FIBA Women's Asia Cup 2019: Schedule for Division A released

India's senior women's team that clinched the Division B crown in 2017.
(Doordhashan National/Twitter)

FIBA announced the schedule for Division A of the FIBA Women's Asia Cup 2019 set to be held in Bengaluru from September 24-29 this year.

The group phase will be conducted from Sep. 24-26.

The tournament tips-off with the runners-up from the previous edition in Australia taking on Philippines and Day 1 ends with recently promoted India taking on the defending champions in Japan.

The eight Division A nations - Japan, Australia, China, Korea, Chinese Taipei, Philippines, New Zealand and India - will be divided into two groups. The top team from each group will directly advance to the semifinals, which will be played on September 28th.

September 27 will commence the second round of the tournament with the 7th place classification game. The second and third placed teams will face each other in the quarter-finals.

The eighth-placed team in Division A will be relegated to Division B and will be replaced in the eight-nation Division A by the winner of Division B.

After eight straight appearances, the 2017 Asia Cup was the first edition that India did not participate in Division A. However, they clinched Division B of the 2017 edition to return to the top flight.

More from NBA.com

Who will lead the World Cup in scoring?
NBA.com staff
#Kemba #Patty
Takeaways: USA surges past Australia in second half
Gilbert McGregor
Riyanshu Negi
Negi credits coach Gates for his transformation
Yash Matange
Myles Turner and Buddy Hield
Lookback at Pacers-Kings games from 2018-19
Yash Matange
Khushi Dongre and Harsimran Kaur
FIBA 3X3 U18 Asia Cup 2019: Indian Girls qualify for Main Draw
Yash Matange
Drafting the best all-time Celtics
NBA.com Staff
More News