All-Star 2020

History of NBA All-Star Slam Dunk Contest winners

The first-ever NBA slam dunk contest was held at the 1984 All-Star Weekend in Denver, CO. Since then, there have only been two years in which the dunk contest did not occur (1998 and 1999).

There have been 27 different dunkers to win the contest in the event's 34-year history. Take a look back at each of the winners…

NBA All-Star Slam Dunk Contest Winners

Year Winner Team Location
2019 Hamidou Diallo Oklahoma City Thunder Charlotte
2018 Donovan Mitchell Utah Jazz Los Angeles
2017 Glenn Robinson III Indiana Pacers New Orleans
2016 Zach LaVine Minnesota Timberwolves Toronto
2015 Zach LaVine Minnesota Timberwolves New York City
2014 John Wall Washington Wizards New Orleans
2013 Terrence Ross Toronto Raptors Houston
2012 Jeremy Evans Utah Jazz Orlando
2011 Blake Griffin LA Clippers Los Angeles
2010 Nate Robinson New York Knicks Dallas
2009 Nate Robinson New York Knicks Phoenix
2008 Dwight Howard Orlando Magic New Orleans
2007 Gerald Green Boston Celtics Las Vegas
2006 Nate Robinson New York Knicks Houston
2005 Josh Smith Atlanta Hawks Denver
2004 Fred Jones Indiana Pacers Los Angeles
2003 Jason Richardson Golden State Warriors Atlanta
2002 Jason Richardson Golden State Warriors Philadelphia
2001 Desmond Mason Seattle SuperSonics Washington, D.C.
2000 Vince Carter Toronto Raptors Oakland
1997 Kobe Bryant Los Angeles Lakers Cleveland
1996 Brent Barry LA Clippers San Antonio
1995 Harold Miner Miami Heat Phoenix
1994 Isiah Rider Minnesota Timberwolves Minnesota
1993 Harold Miner Miami Heat Salt Lake City
1992 Cedric Ceballos Phoenix Suns Orlando
1991 Dee Brown Boston Celtics Charlotte
1990 Dominique Wilkins Atlanta Hawks Miami
1989 Kenny Walker New York Knicks Houston
1988 Michael Jordan Chicago Bulls Chicago
1987 Michael Jordan Chicago Bulls Seattle
1986 Spud Webb Atlanta Hawks Dallas
1985 Dominique Wilkins Atlanta Hawks Indianapolis
1984 Larry Nance Phoenix Suns Denver

Who has won the most slam dunk contest wins?

Nate Robinson has won the slam dunk contest a record three times (2006, 2009, 2010). Robinson is one of six players to have won the dunk contest more than once and one of four to win the dunk contest in back-to-back years.

Who are the shortest and tallest winners?

In 1986, Spud Webb (5-foot-7) became the shortest player to win the slam dunk contest while Dwight Howard (6-foot-11) became the tallest player to win the dunk contest in 2008.

More from NBA.com

'Playoff Rondo' is key to Lakers title run
Kyle Irving
Porter Jr., Rondo, Grant
Biggest X-Factors in Lakers-Nuggets series
Yash Matange
Barton's return could be the x-factor the Nuggets need
Benyam Kidane
When are the stars playing?
Broadcast schedule for the 2020 NBA Playoffs in India
NBA.com Staff
0-2 Conf. Finals comebacks
Teams to come back from 2-0 in Conference Finals
Yash Matange
Miami Heat
Heat's zone defence stifles C's in Game 2
Yash Matange
More News