Basketball and India

Who are the New Zealand Breakers? Fast facts on Princepal Singh's new NBL team

The next step in Princepal Singh's journey to making the NBA takes him Down Under to the NBL.

The news became official as the New Zealand Breakers capped off their roster for the 2021-22 season by adding Singh.

This comes after his one-year stint with the Ignite in the NBA G League, where he made an appearance in four games and totalled nine points and four rebounds along with one steal in 25 minutes of court time.

Who are the New Zealand Breakers, Singh's new team? Let's get to know them with some fast facts.

Fast facts on New Zealand Breakers

The New Zealand Breakers, also known as the Sky Sport Breakers as they are sponsored by Sky Sport, are one of the 10 franchises in the NBL and the only one from the current set of teams to be based outside of Australia.

Founded in 2003 by three Waikato businessmen in Dallas Fisher, Michael Redman and Keith Ward, the franchise is based out of the country's capital in Auckland and has played its home games at Spark Arena since 2012.

NBA League Pass: Sign up to unlock live out-of-market games (7-day free trial)

The COVID-19 pandemic forced the team to play the majority of the 2020-21 season as the home team from Tasmania. For the upcoming 2021-22 season, the team has committed to playing the first half based in Australia.

History of the New Zealand Breakers

Despite joining the NBL over two decades after the league was formed, the Breakers are tied for the third-most successful franchise. They are tied with the Adelaide 36ers for four championships all time.

They won their four titles in the span of five years from 2010 to 2015, including a three-peat from 2011-2013, which made them the second NBL franchise ever to three-peat.

Prior to the 2021-22 season, the franchise has an overall record of 271-263 (.507), posting a record of .500 or better in 11 of their 18 seasons. They posted their best single-season record of 24-4 in the 2012-13 season, the final year of their three-peat.

That season they won a franchise-record 15 straight games and swept the postseason 4-0, winning both the best-of-three Semifinals and Grand Finals with 2-0 sweeps.

They posted a 12-24 record (their worst since 2006-07, which was just their fourth season in the league) in the 2020-21 season during which they missed major players for large portions of the season either due to injuries or personal reasons.

Player/Coach Accomplishments

Recognitions Player
NBL MVP Kirk Penney (2009), Cedric Jackson (2013)
NBL MVP for Grand Finals series Thomas Abercrombie (2011), C. J. Bruton (2012), Cedric Jackson (2013, 2015)
All-NBL First Team Carlos Powell (2007), Kirk Penney (2008, 2009, 2010, 2011), C. J. Bruton (2009), Gary Wilkinson (2011), Cedric Jackson (2012, 2013, 2015), Thomas Abercrombie (2012)
Leading NBL Scorer Carlos Powell (2007), Kirk Penney (2009)
NBL Best Sixth Man Phill Jones (2009), Kevin Braswell (2011)
NBL Most Improved Player Shea Ili (2018)
NBL Defensive Player of the Year Dillon Boucher (2010)
NBL Coach of the Year Andrej Lemanis (2012, 2013)
Retired Numbers #23 C. J. Bruton, #24 Dillon Boucher, #32 Paul Henare


The ownership of the Breakers franchise has changed hands three times. The businessman trio that helped establish the franchise sold the team to Liz and Paul Blackwell in 2005.

The couple governed the franchise during its most successful stint before selling it in February 2018 to a consortium, headed by former NBA player Matt Walsh, that became the major shareholders via a newly formed company called Breakers Basketball Ltd.

The views on this page do not necessarily represent the views of the NBA or its clubs.

More from

Stats to know from Grizzlies' record-breaking win
Kyle Irving
DeMar DeRozan (Chicago Bulls)
DeRozan is the NBA's fourth-quarter scoring king
Nick Metallinos
LeBron clears COVID-19 protocols, set to return
Official Release
Billups, Lillard
Under Billups, defence still an issue for Trail Blazers
Yash Matange
Stephen Curry and Chris Paul
Preview: Suns-Warriors clash headlines Saturday's games
Yash Matange
How to watch live 2021-22 NBA games in India? Staff
More News