Who has been named Coach of the Year? A complete list of previous winners

Tom Thibodeau of the New York Knicks has been officially named Coach of the Year for the 2020-21 season.

Pipping finalists in Monty Williams of the Phoenix Suns and Quin Snyder of the Utah Jazz, this is Thibodeau's second career Coach of the Year honour after previously winning it in 2010-11 with the Chicago Bulls.

is the 10th head coach to win the NBA Coach of the Year Award more than once and the eighth to do it with multiple franchises.

Here's who this season's Coach of the Year will be joining in the history books...

NBA's Coach of the Year history
Year Coach Team Record
2021 Tom Thibodeau New York Knicks 41-31
2020 Nick Nurse Toronto Raptors 53-19
2019 Mike Budenholzer Milwaukee Bucks 60-22
2018 Dwane Casey Toronto Raptors 59-23
2017 Mike D'Antoni Houston Rockets 55-27
2016 Steve Kerr Golden State Warriors 73-9
2015 Mike Budenholzer Atlanta Hawks 60-22
2014 Gregg Popovich San Antonio Spurs 62-20
2013 George Karl Denver Nuggets 57-25
2012 Gregg Popovich San Antonio Spurs 50-16
2011 Tom Thibodeau Chicago Bulls 62-20
2010 Scott Brooks Oklahoma City Thunder 50-32
2009 Mike Brown Cleveland Cavaliers 66-16
2008 Byron Scott New Orleans Hornets 56-26
2007 Sam Mitchell Toronto Raptors 47-35
2006 Avery Johnson Dallas Mavericks 60-22
2005 Mike D'Antoni Phoenix Suns 62-20
2004 Hubie Brown Memphis Grizzlies 50-32
2003 Gregg Popovich San Antonio Spurs 60-22
2002 Rick Carlisle Detroit Pistons 50-32
2001 Larry Brown Philadelphia 76ers 56-26
2000 Doc Rivers Orlando Magic 41-41
1999 Mike Dunleavy Portland Trail Blazers 35-15
1998 Larry Bird Indiana Pacers 58-24
1997 Pat Riley Miami Heat 61-21
1996 Phil Jackson Chicago Bulls 72-10
1995 Del Harris Los Angeles Lakers 42-40
1994 Lenny Wilkens Atlanta Hawks 57-25
1993 Pat Riley New York Knicks 60-22
1992 Don Nelson Golden State Warriors 55-27
1991 Don Chaney Houston Rockets 52-30
1990 Pat Riley Los Angeles Lakers 63-19
1989 Cotton Fitzsimmons Phoenix Suns 55-27
1988 Doug Moe Denver Nuggets 54-28
1987 Mike Schuler Portland Trail Blazers 49-23
1986 Mike Fratello Atlanta Hawks 50-32
1985 Don Nelson Milwaukee Bucks 59-23
1984 Frank Layden Utah Jazz 45-37
1983 Don Nelson Milwaukee Bucks 51-31
1982 Eugene Shue Washington Bullets 43-39
1981 Jack McKinney Indiana Pacers 44-38
1980 Bill Fitch Boston Celtics 61-21
1979 Cotton Fitzsimmons Kansas City Kings 48-34
1978 Hubie Brown Atlanta Hawks 41-41
1977 Tom Nissalke Houston Rockets 49-33
1976 Bill Fitch Cleveland Cavaliers 49-33
1975 Phil Johnson Kansas City-Omaha Kings 44-38
1974 Ray Scott Detroit Pistons 52-30
1973 Thomas Heinsohn Boston Celtics 68-14
1972 Bill Sharman Los Angeles Lakers 69-13
1971 Dick Motta Chicago Bulls 51-31
1970 Red Holzman New York Knicks 60-22
1969 Eugene Shue Baltimore Bullets 57-25
1968 Richard Guerin St. Louis Hawks 56-26
1967 John Kerr Chicago Bulls 33-48
1966 Adolph Schayes Philadelphia 76ers 55-25
1965 Red Auerbach Boston Celtics 62-18
1964 Alexander Hannum San Francisco Warriors 48-32
1963 Harry Gallatin St. Louis Hawks 48-32

The views on this page do not necessarily reflect the views of the NBA or its clubs.

More from

Gersson Rosas, Sachin Gupta, Minnesota Timberwolves
Report: Gupta to make Indian history with T'Wolves promotion
Kyle Irving
Paul George, LA Clippers
George is in line for a statement season
Kyle Irving
Can Clippers stay afloat without Kawhi?
Kyle Irving
LeBron James, Kevin Durant, Dwight Howard, Blake Griffin, Carmelo Anthony and James Harden
Fantasy draft: Lakers and Nets stars in their prime
Scott Rafferty and Kyle Irving
Pete Maravich
Before Showtime, there was Pete Maravich
Benyam Kidane
Sharpshooter JJ Redick has announced his retirement from the NBA
Redick announces retirement from NBA
Scott Rafferty
More News