Who has been named Defensive Player of the Year? A complete history of winners

By winning the 2020-21 Defensive Player of the Year award, Rudy Gobert becomes the fourth player in NBA history to win the award at least thrice.

Introduced in the 1982-83 season, some of the greatest defenders in league history have earned the honour, with Dikembe Mutombo and Ben Wallace each winning the award a record four times.

Take a look back at the history of Defensive Player of the Year winners…

Season Winner Team
2020-21 Rudy Gobert Utah Jazz
2019-20 Giannis Antetokounmpo Milwaukee Bucks
2018-19 Rudy Gobert Utah Jazz
2017-18 Rudy Gobert Utah Jazz
2016-17 Draymond Green Golden State Warriors
2015-16 Kawhi Leonard San Antonio Spurs
2014-15 Kawhi Leonard San Antonio Spurs
2013-14 Joakim Noah Chicago Bulls
2012-13 Marc Gasol Memphis Grizzlies
2011-12 Tyson Chandler New York Knicks
2010-11 Dwight Howard Orlando Magic
2009-10 Dwight Howard Orlando Magic
2008-09 Dwight Howard Orlando Magic
2007-08 Kevin Garnett Boston Celtics
2006-07 Marcus Camby Denver Nuggets
2005-06 Ben Wallace Detroit Pistons
2004-05 Ben Wallace Detroit Pistons
2003-04 Metta World Peace (1) Indiana Pacers
2002-03 Ben Wallace Detroit Pistons
2001-02 Ben Wallace Detroit Pistons
2000-01 Dikembe Mutombo Atlanta Hawks / Philadelphia 76ers
1999-00 Alonzo Mourning Miami Heat
1998-99 Alonzo Mourning Miami Heat
1997-98 Dikembe Mutombo Atlanta Hawks
1996-97 Dikembe Mutombo Atlanta Hawks
1995-96 Gary Payton Seattle Supersonics
1994-95 Dikembe Mutombo Denver Nuggets
1993-94 Hakeem Olajuwon Houston Rockets
1992-93 Hakeem Olajuwon Houston Rockets
1991-92 David Robinson San Antonio Spurs
1990-91 Dennis Rodman Detroit Pistons
1989-90 Dennis Rodman Detroit Pistons
1988-89 Mark Eaton Utah Jazz
1987-88 Michael Jordan Chicago Bulls
1986-87 Michael Cooper Los Angeles Lakers
1985-86 Alvin Robertson San Antonio Spurs
1984-85 Mark Eaton Utah Jazz
1983-84 Sidney Moncrief Milwaukee Bucks
1982-83 Sidney Moncrief Milwaukee Bucks

The views on this page do not necessarily reflect the views of the NBA or its clubs.

More from

LeBron James, Kevin Durant, Dwight Howard, Blake Griffin, Carmelo Anthony and James Harden
Fantasy draft: Lakers and Nets stars in their prime
Scott Rafferty and Kyle Irving
Pete Maravich
Before Showtime, there was Pete Maravich
Benyam Kidane
Stephen Curry and Bradley Beal
Our predictions for this season's scoring leader Staff
NBA Global Games
Countries to have hosted NBA preseason games
Yash Matange
Team USA announce Dream Team
On this date: USA Basketball name Dream Team
Yash Matange
Klay Thompson
Warriors give update on Thompson's return
Benyam Kidane
More News